Home

My fashion has been described as “peasant-chic”, “very colorful”, and “only you would wear that.”

DSCN3163

this is normal, right?

I’m not sure if there is a generic way to describe my fashion sense because it’s a total mosaic of all the places I’ve lived and the cultures I’ve passed through.

269614119_l

in high school at cosmic cafe

Growing up in northern California meant that I dressed like a river hippie through high school. Then I began hanging out with the emo/punk/indie kids and blazers, studded belts, and Converse got thrown into the mix. Once I was in college, I realized high heels and curling my hair was expected to attract boys at crowded parties.

M3361S-3034

this was a flavor flav party. i’m not proud. also was i drinking out of a red solo cup with a STRAW?!

french made me do it 004

college was a time of selfies and sepia-2006

By the time I went on my first backpacking trip through Italy and Greece, my style was all over the place.

venice birds

italy and greece 057.jpg

looking awkward at pompeii

 

I studied abroad in Sweden for a year and this is when my fashion started to drastically change. I saw the effortlessly stylish Swedes dressed in black, all day, every day. I felt like a freak in my bright blue winter coat. Maybe it was going to IKEA so much, but I began to realize less can be more. My style became more minimal and less bohemian mix and match. I became obsessed with H&M and Cheap Monday jeans.

international gasque part 2 022

at one of many gasques or fancy dinners in sweden

n30606264_32055772_1777

i definitely had euro hair going for awhile there

 

n10223257_37615967_8114

me looking totally not swedish in my blue coat

South Korea is where many trends in Asia start and Seoul has definitely become a fashion capital in the world. My students called me “fashionista” and I decided I needed to live up to that nickname.

P1040228.JPG

literal gangnam style

P1020929.JPG

I was making good money and the underground shopping malls were pervasive, so I spent a good amount my time in South Korea shopping and becoming obsessed with my looks. I also bought into the cutesy, little girl style and wore lots of headbands, patterned tights, and short skirts.

busan baby 055

van gough was korean right? 😉

I headed next to northern Spain, where dreadlocks and rain jackets were all the rage. I honestly wore my black boots (that some girl left behind in my new apartment) and army green jacket every day. My cute fashions from South Korea slowly drifted away, but I still wore short skirts, albeit with tights and boots, when I could.

P1060012.jpg

P1040866.JPG

Taiwan seemed very unfashionable compared to South Korea. People could go out and party in whatever they wanted. Shopping was cheap, but most of the fashion seemed stuck in the bad parts of the 90s. I still enjoyed dressing up for my English teacher job, but the rainy, windy winters and humid summers had me dressing quite casually and deciding I no longer liked high heels. I also went through a fake glasses phase, which I don’t regret.

P1070607.JPG

 

DSCN2088.jpg

Now that I live and work in Phuket, Thailand, it is comical to call my style in Taiwan “casual” because now I dress like a beach bum. At the moment, I’m wearing baggy jean shorts, a cotton tank top, and my hair is not brushed. I’m not wearing make-up, my shoes are Tevas, and yes, I’m in public. At work, I throw my hair into a messy bun, put my uniform (a button-up and long black skirt) on, and only wear make-up if it’s a holiday or important day. People in Phuket don’t worry much about what they wear. It needs to be easy, comfortable, and something you could end up at the beach in. The clothes I brought from Taiwan sit in the back of my closet. They are deemed to fancy for my life here.

DSCN3455.JPG

caves and a night market t-shirt that has elephants drinking lattes on it. my proudest purchase.

IMG_2222

a bathing suit is all you need in phuket

I’ll be heading back to California and we’ll see if I revert back to the river hippie look, if I will bust out my dancing heels from South Korea, or rock a nice, black dress from Sweden.

Most likely, I am going to mix it all together and keep it eclectic; just like my travels.

P1010705.jpg

california and my dog, jack

Leave a Reply

