Home

When I lived in Melbourne in 2010, the music scene was inescapable. There were live bands in bars, outdoor festivals, Sunday brunches with techno music, pop-up shows in parks, and everyone I met seemed to be a DJ. The electronic scene was huge and still is.

I listened to Triple J, the most popular Australian alternative radio station, constantly because it played music I’d never heard before. It was all totally fresh and fun.

I hear Cut Copy now and I’m instantly transported to an Aussie club. Their music is made for a good time.

The Presets were what my American friend and I would dance around my small bedroom to. We didn’t have jobs and so, we would paint our faces, dress-up, and weird out our German roommates. If you are strange in the eyes of the Germans, then yeah, you’ve gone too far. But, The Presets are the kind of music that you gotta get weird to.

The song, Sunlight, by Bag Raiders, is what got me through the Korean winters that I left Australia for. If this song doesn’t make you happy, then your soul needs a jumpstart.

Everyone loves “Sweet Disposition” by The Temper Trap, and so do I, but I have a soft spot for “Love Lost”. The video is utterly charming and full of nostalgia.

The land down under is certainly on top of its music. Aussie, Aussie, Aussie! Oi Oi Oi!

Leave a Reply

